Growing Old With…

I WANNA GROW OLD WITH YOU

I wanna make you smile whenever you’re sad
Carry you around when your arthritis is bad
Oh all I wanna do is grow old with you

I’ll get your medicine when your tummy aches
Build you a fire when the furnace breaks
Oh it could be so nice, growing old with you

I’ll miss you
Kiss you
Give you my coat when you are cold

Need you
Feed you
Even let ya hold the remote control

So let me do the dishes in our kitchen sink
Put you to bed when you’ve had too much to drink
I could be the man who grows old with you
I wanna grow old with you

Everyone dreams of the perfect love. An ever after. Blame it on fairy tales you’re read to as a kid. Then you go through life debating what love really is… its definition changing for you by your age and experiences you have been through. From believing “love is like a rosary, coz it is full of mystery” in elementary to “love makes the bells chime, the birds fly, and the flowers bloom” in high school to “love is a choice” in college to “love should be prioritized above everything else” in early adulthood, one thing remains the same: you have somewhat an idea of what love is supposed to be like.
The lyrics of the song above captures the perfect til’-death-do-us-part relationship a little girl is led to believe. Who wouldn’t want to be taken care of that way forever? I used to believe in that song. I used to believe there are loves that actually last even with little effort. I used to believe that a perfect relationship is out there just waiting to be picked.
But the truth that life painfully teaches us is that in a relationship, one person would love more than the other… and the more the one loves, the more the other person’s love recedes. Such a nasty Yin-Yang.
So I revisited this favorite song of mine and saw it in a whole new light. From picturing a guy so fondly taking care of his wife, and she reciprocating… I now see a guy who is severely going to get taken for granted, because the wife doesn’t know what she has.
Apart from that, there are two lines that would prove to be lies soon as they hook up despite how the man feels for her: “I’ll miss you… I’ll need you…” Notice how it is a promise to miss and a promise to need since the operative word is “will?” It. Does. Not. Happen! Stay apart from from a guy for a day and you feel that you miss them… then ask him “Do you miss me?” and you will get a fleeting irritated look with the brows about to furrow then a sudden smile “Of course I miss you!”
I wish that this belief is only for now, and that like all my other beliefs, they got replaced by something else. Of course deep inside, there’s a small voice still whispering that all is not lost – that we still have our own fairytale endings waiting to happen. So here’s hoping to meeting the prince who will yet sweep me off my feet.
Leave a Reply

  • An attempt to remember.

  • The author and editor would like to thank the visitors of this site for dropping by and taking time to go through the articles.

    These are simply but ramblings of one woman struggling to retain as much youth in a fast-aging world. With her deteriorating senses and memory, this is her way holding on to as much as she can remember.

    The tone of the blog will most-likely change once she shifts to another phase in life. As of the moment, she claims to be at peace while in hibernation.

